Sections and Other Activities in 2001–02

Elected Section officers for 2002–2004 were as follows: EE, Lynnette Olson, chair-elect; EM, Farrell Webb, chair-elect; FH, Barbara Mandleco, chair-elect; FS, Laura Smart, chair; and FT, Volker Thomas, chair-elect. An Annie E. Casey Foundation Grant of $75,000 was given to NCFR for the purpose of developing teams of researchers and practitioners to provide a special issue of Family Relations and fact sheets on issues of families and children of concern. The Third Annual Public Policy Conference took place April 18–19, 2002, in Washington, DC. The theme was “Mid-Term Progress: Economic Stability for Families.” Over 76 attendees participated in dialogue regarding the Temporary […]

Posted in CFLE, Other Activities, Public Policy, Sections | No Comments »

Journals and Publications in 2001–02

Alexis Walker, Journal of Marriage and Family Editor, reported an increase in unsolicited manuscripts of 7.6% (287 manuscripts). In addition, seven papers were commissioned. Acceptance rates were close to 8%. The journal continued to be ranked #1 by total citations and #2 by impact in Journal Citation Reports. Kay Pasley, Editor of Family Relations, reported a 10.3% acceptance rate. The journal’s ranking by the Citation Reports was sixth in total citations, 18th by impact factor, and fourth among social work journals. NCFR members rated the Journal of Marriage and Family superior for technical quality, theoretical basis, clarity, relevance, and sound methodology. The Decade in Review 2000 was also […]

Posted in Journals and Publications | No Comments »

Affiliates in 2001–02

The Northwest Council held a conference in June 2002. At the NCFR Annual Conference, Britton Wood, Association of Councils program chair, coordinated a roundtable session on strengthening the affiliates. NCFR offered $500 start-up grants to campuses that wished to start college or student councils. There were 19 campus councils. Many identified unique mission statements.

Posted in Affiliate Councils | No Comments »

Structure and Governance, Membership, and Awards in 2001–02

The Fellowship Committee terms were extended from 2 to 3 year terms for more continuity in reviewing. Approximately 4,007 members of NCFR were counted this year. Read the March 2002 NCFR Report Magazine Read the June 2002 NCFR Report Magazine Read the September 2002 NCFR Report Magazine Read the December 2002 NCFR Report Magazine Awards and recipients were the following: Student Award: Jason Hans, University of Missouri—Columbia Marie Peters Award: Norma Bond Burgess, Syracuse University Jan Trost Award: Bron Ingoldsby, Brigham Young University Burgess Award: Pauline Boss, University of Minnesota Reuben Hill Award: William Axim and Scott Yabiku, University of Michigan; Jody Van Laningham and David R. […]

Posted in Awards, Membership, Structure and Governance | No Comments »

Leadership in 2001–02

NCFR President Carol Darling, CFLE, the Margaret R. Sandels Professor of Human Sciences in the Department of Family and Children Sciences at Florida State University and Distinguished Teaching Professor at Florida State University, was the recipient of two Fulbright Scholarships. Darling used both Fulbrights to teach family life education and conduct research in Finland at the University of Helsinki in 1995 and 2005, where she represented NCFR and intended to “infuse international family life education as a theme.” A native of Virginia, MN, Darling earned her BA and MA at the University of Minnesota and her doctoral degree in family ecology from Michigan […]

Posted in Leadership | No Comments »

Other Activities in 2000–01

The second annual Public Policy & Education Conference was held in Washington, DC, March 1–2, 2001, with 53 paid registrants attending. Committee chair was Tom Chibucos of Bowling Green State University. Attendees met with 33 congressional offices representing 23 states. Each office received a copy of the award-winning booklet “Public Policy through a Family Lens: Sustaining Families in the 21st Century.” Rep. Nancy Johnson (R-CT), received the NCFR Special Service to Families Award. Eleanor Clift, contributing editor to Newsweek, gave the keynote address. Lauren Fasig, SRCD Office of Policy and Communication, gave the Capitol Hill orientation; Theodora Ooms, Senior Policy Analyst at the […]

Posted in CFLE, Other Activities, Public Policy | No Comments »

Sections in 2000–01

The Family and Health Section welcomed a new focus group to the section, Issues in Aging Families, chaired by Christine Price. The Chronic Illness and Disability focus group, chaired by Glenna Boyce, was also a member of this Section. Ann Garwick was Family and Health Section chair. The Ethnic Minorities Section, chaired by Estella Martinez, completed the endowment requirements for the John McAdoo Dissertation Award. John McAdoo was a founding member of the Ethnic Minorities Section and a professor of Family and Child Ecology at Michigan State University. He was a prolific writer and the first to do research on African American fathers. […]

Posted in Sections | No Comments »

Journals and Publications in 2000–01

Alexis Walker became the new editor of Journal of Marriage and Family, and Kay Pasley continued as editor of Family Relations. Both journals were mounted full-text on the JSTOR and Sociological Abstracts, giving NCFR members access to full texts of all articles. In 2001, NCFR began to offer the first e-newsletter, called “Zippy News,” which was posted once a week on the Internet and contained brief news of interest to members. NCFR published, in both hardcover and paperback, Understanding Families Into the New Millennium: A Decade in Review, edited by Robert Milardo.

Posted in Journals and Publications | No Comments »

Affiliates in 2000–01

In order to clarify Board roles in governance, Lane Powell, Association of Councils (AOC) President, presented to the Board a distinction between and Affiliates and the Association of Councils. The AOC is a part of the NCFR bylaws, and therefore the Board requires a monitoring report from the AOC, whereas the Affiliates are more autonomous and self-sustaining. The AOC made its first awards for meritorious service at the 2000 Annual Conference and continued them. Recipients included Libby Blume, Roger Rubin, Raeann Hamon, Shulamit Ritblatt, and Anne Stanberry.

Posted in Affiliate Councils | No Comments »

Membership and Awards in 2000–01

The year-end report revealed 3,998 members; many new members had been brought in through the CFLE program. They tended to remain members longer. Read the March 2001 NCFR Report Magazine Read the June 2001 NCFR Report Magazine Read the September 2001 NCFR Report Magazine Read the December 2001 NCFR Report Magazine Awards and recipients this year were as follows: NCFR Student Award: Lenora McWey and Megan Murphy Jessie Bernard Research Proposal: Áine Humble, Oregon State University Jessie Bernard Contributions to Feminist Scholarship: Julie Kohler, University of Maryland Jon Trost Award: Gary Lee, University of Florida Reuben Hill Award: Liana C. Sayer and Suzanne Bianchi, University of Maryland  […]

Posted in Awards, Membership | No Comments »