Leadership in 1994–95

Michael Sporakowski

1 Leave a comment on paragraph 1 0 President Alexis Joan Walker was a long-time leader of NCFR. In addition to being President, she also served as Editor of the Journal of Marriage and the Family, Program Vice President, and Feminism and Family Studies founding Section Chair. She received her PhD. from Pennsylvania State University in 1979, in Human Development and Family Studies. She began her teaching career at the University of Oklahoma, where she was promoted to Associate Professor with tenure. In 1986, her career took her to Oregon State University, where she was a professor, Chair of the Department of Human Development and Family Sciences, and Co-Director of the Graduate Program in Human Development and Family Sciences. Walker was one of the inaugural class of NCFR Fellows (an idea she initiated with the Board during her presidency.) She was also a Fellow in the Gerontological Society of America. At Oregon State she won the Carl L. Anderson Outstanding Faculty Award. Alexis was the editor of the Journal of Marriage and Family from 2002 to 2007 and served on the editorial boards of numerous journals. Her final award, announced just a week before her death, was the receipt of NCFR’s Felix Berardo Scholarship Award for Mentoring. She died on July 8, 2012, in Portland, OR, at age 60 after a lengthy illness. At the time of her death she was the Petersen Chair in Gerontology and Family Studies at the Department of Human Development and Family Studies at Oregon State University in Corvallis.

2 Leave a comment on paragraph 2 0 Board members this year were as follows:

  • 3 Leave a comment on paragraph 3 0
  • President-Elect: Mike Sporakowski
  • Past President: Harriette McAdoo
  • Treasurer: David Klein
  • Secretary: Joan Jurich
  • Membership Vice President: Marilyn Flick
  • Public Policy Vice President: Elaine Anderson
  • Annual Conference Program Vice President-Elect: Shirley Zimmerman
  • Publications Vice President: Joe Pittman
  • AOC President: John Touliatos
  • AOC President-Elect: Libby Blume

4 Leave a comment on paragraph 4 0 Section chairs were the following: Joan Comeau, EE; Norma Bond Burgess, EM; Barbara Holder, FH; Pamela Monroe, FP; Bernita Quoss, FS; Scott Allgood, FT; Katherine Allen, FF; Ramona Marotz-Baden, IN; Beth Norrell, RF; Cheryl Buehler, RT; Catherine Solheim, SNP; and Sharon Dwyer, SNP Representative-Elect.

5 Leave a comment on paragraph 5 0  


Categories: Leadership
People: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,