Leadership in 1961–62

David Mace

1 Leave a comment on paragraph 1 0 David Mace became the 19th President of NCFR. He was a native of Scotland, a prolific writer and world traveler. Mace has said that he probably never would have thought of coming to the United States if it had not been for NCFR leader David Fulcomer, whom he had met in London during World War II and who set up a program for him that made the trip possible. He and his wife, Vera Mace, moved to the United States in 1949. Mace was a professor at Drew University, the University of Pennsylvania, and the Bowman Gray School of Medicine. He and Vera served as Co-Executive Directors of the American Association of Marriage Counselors. (later the American Association of Marriage and Family Therapists). The crowning achievement of the Maces was the founding of the Association for Couples in Marital Enrichment, which is still in existence today.

2 Leave a comment on paragraph 2 0 The following is an excerpt from Mace’s Presidential Address:

3 Leave a comment on paragraph 3 0 “What is family wellness? . . . It represents people moving toward the appropriation of their full relational potential. It is not a static condition, because people are always growing and changing, and static relationships would mean an end to growth. It is a continuous and creative adaptation to the ever-changing world, within and without, in which persons live and move and have their being. It can be gained, and lost, and then regained. It represents the dictum of Robert Louis Stevenson, who said that the true goal of human life is not to arrive, but to travel hopefully.”

4 Leave a comment on paragraph 4 0 The following individuals comprised the 1961–62 Executive Committee:

  • 5 Leave a comment on paragraph 5 0
  • President: David Mace
  • President-Elect: Wallace C. Fulton
  • Past President: Harold Christensen
  • Secretary: Frances Jordan
  • Treasurer: Frederick E. Berger
  • Editor, Marriage and Family Living: Ivan Nye
  • Members at-Large: Donald Breiland, Winston Ehrmann, Rabbi Jerome D. Folkman, and Eleanor Luckey

6 Leave a comment on paragraph 6 0 The four sections and chairs were as follows:

  1. 7 Leave a comment on paragraph 7 0
  2. Counseling, chaired by John W. Hudson
  3. Education, chaired by Gertrude Gass
  4. Research, chaired by Lee Burchinal
  5. Special Emphases, chaired by Joel Moss


Categories: Leadership
People: , , , , , , , , , ,