Structure and Governance in 1945

1 Leave a comment on paragraph 1 0 On February 23, 1945, the NCFR Executive Committee composed of President Sidney Goldstein, Vice Presidents Emily Hartshorn Mudd, Edgar Schmiedeler, and Katharine Whiteside Taylor; and Secretary–Treasurer Evelyn Millis Duvall met to plan for the 1946 conference and to compile members of two important committees.

2 Leave a comment on paragraph 2 0 The first committee, the Board of Directors, would have 27 members. These came from various disciplines and levels of government and included Fred L. Adair, MD; Benjamin Andrews; Henry Bowman; Muriel W. Brown; Leonard S. Cottrell; Stanley P. Davies; Lester W. Dearborn; Robert L.  Dickenson, MD; Harriet Daggett; Harriett Elliott; Joseph K. Folsom; Robert G. Foster; Lawrence K. Frank; E. Franklin Frazier; Gladys Gaylord; Nadina R. Kavinoky, MD; the Right Rev. Msgr. John O’Grady; Ralph H. Ojemana; Paul Popenoe; Max Rhienstein; George S. Stevenson MD; B. F. Timmons; Arthur J. Todd; Anna Budd Ware; Edna N. White; Faith M. Williams; and L. Foster Wood.

3 Leave a comment on paragraph 3 0 An second committee, the Advisory Council, also was recognized; it consisted of state and regional chairs and other appointees who provided great involvement and information. Margaret Mead, renowned anthropologist, was a member of this group.


Categories: Structure and Governance
People: , , , , , , , , , , ,