Structure and Governance in 1940

1 Leave a comment on paragraph 1 0 The 1940 officers were as follows:

  • 2 Leave a comment on paragraph 2 0
  • President: Adolph Meyer
  • Vice President: Ernest R. Groves
  • Secretary–Treasurer: Ernest W. Burgess
  • Executive Director: Mary K. White

3 Leave a comment on paragraph 3 0 The Board of Directors was established and expanded from 10 to 25 members, and the Advisory Council also grew, from 10 to 33 members. These included leaders of the state and regional councils.

4 Leave a comment on paragraph 4 0 Mary K. White was elected NCFR’s first Executive Director and Associate Editor of Living. She held a master’s degree in social work from Indiana University and had done graduate work at the University of Chicago. She was coauthor of the Social Science Research Council’s “Memorandum on Social Aspects of Relief Policies in the Depression” and was formerly employed as a statistician at the Council of Social Agencies of Chicago.


Categories: Structure and Governance
People: , ,