Leadership in 1960–61

Harold Christensen

1 Leave a comment on paragraph 1 0 The 18th President of NCFR was Harold T. Christensen, a Fulbright Scholar who was a professor at Purdue University and whose specialty research was on cross-cultural families. His work was known and respected worldwide.

2 Leave a comment on paragraph 2 0 The following is an excerpt from Christensen‘s Presidential Address:

3 Leave a comment on paragraph 3 0 “Love, sex, marriage, and parenthood are subjects of intrinsic interest to nearly everyone. Perhaps this is so because they represent experiences common to all mankind, and also because the motives which impel them and the consequences which spring from them are rather deep-seated in human personality and far-reaching in terms of human satisfactions. Family phenomena constitute important factors . . . of both personal happiness and social stability . . . It is only in recent years that the family institution has been viewed under the searchlight of science, and although the activity has been considerable and the results promising, there remains the lack of pulling the various elements together into a unified and valued theory.”

4 Leave a comment on paragraph 4 0 The 1960 Executive Committee comprised the following:

  • 5 Leave a comment on paragraph 5 0
  • President: Harold T. Christensen
  • President-Elect: David R. Mace
  • Past President: Aaron L. Rutledge
  • Secretary: Esther Middlewood
  • Treasurer: Frederick E. Berger
  • Editor, Marriage and Family Living: Ivan Nye
  • Membership Chair: Gerald R. Leslie
  • Members-at-Large: Donald Brieland, Msgr. Irving A. DeBlanc, Wallace Fulton, and Eleanor B. Luckey


Categories: Leadership
People: , , , , , ,