Awards conferred in 2007

The following individuals received awards this year: The Reuben Hill Award: Melissa T. Sturge-Apple and Patrick T. Davies, University of Rochester, and E. Mark Cummings, University of Notre Dame. Article: Hostility and Withdrawal in Marital Conflict: Effects on Parental Emotional Unavailability and Inconsistent Discipline. Cindy Winter Scholarship Award: Stephanie K. Grutzmacher, University of Maryland Student Award: Markie C. Blumer, Iowa State University Osborne Award: Alan C. Acock, Oregon State University Marie Peters Award: Velma McBride-Murray, University of Georgia Jessie Bernard Outstanding Research Proposal from a Feminist Perspective:  Lyndal Bee Lian Khaw, University of of Illinois Jessie Bernard Outstanding Contribution to Feminist Scholarship Paper […]

Posted in Awards | No Comments »

Sections in 2006–07

In 2006–2007, the following Sections existed: Education and Enrichment—Don Bower, CFLE (2008) Ethnic Minorities—Katia Paz Goldfarb (2008) Family and Health—Sharon D. Denham (2008) Family Policy—Thomas R. Chibucos (2008) Family Science—Sandra J. Bailey, CFLE (2008) Family Therapy—Colleen M. Peterson (2008) Feminism and Family Studies—Aine M. Humble, CFLE (2009) International—Catherine A. Solheim (2009) Religion and Family Life—Linda S. Behrendt, CFLE (2009) Research and Theory—Ronald M. Sabatelli, CFLE (2009)  

Posted in Sections | No Comments »

Affiliates in 2006–07

The Association of Councils Executive Board structure was as follows: President: Richard Sale (2009) Annual Conference Program Chair: Ada Alden, CFLE (2009) Secretary/Treasurer & Affiliate Connection Editor: Stephen Brown (2009) Student/New Professional Representatives: Justin Dyer (2008) Section Liaison: Denise Donnelly (2009) Past President/Chair, Nominating Committee: Marcie J. Brooke, CFLE (2009) The 2007–2008 State Councils included the following California (Jacki Booth) Illinois (Angela R. Wiley) Michigan (Tara Saathoff-Wells) Minnesota (Minnell Tralle) Ohio (Donna K. Crossman) Oklahoma (Glee Absher, CFLE) Texas (Dave Sager, CFLE) Utah (Susan Ericksen) Regional Councils Mid-Atlantic (DE, PA, MD; Rebecca Pettit) Northwest (AK, AL, BC, ID, MT, OR, WA; Jane Lanigan) […]

Posted in Affiliate Councils | No Comments »

Membership and CFLE in 2006–07

Membership this year totaled 3,241. Read the March 2007 NCFR Report Magazine Read the June 2007 NCFR Report Magazine Read the September 2007 NCFR Report Magazine Read the December 2007 NCFR Report Magazine Development of the CFLE exam progressed during the first half of 2007 as NCFR members met with Schroeder Measurement Technologies to conduct a Practice Analysis and Item Writing workshop. In September 2007, NCFR held its final portfolio review. Two hundred five applications were received. In November 2007, the first CFLE Exam was offered at the NCFR Annual Conference. Three candidates sat for the exam.

Posted in CFLE, Membership | No Comments »

Leadership in 2006–07

The Board this year comprised the following individuals: President: Pamela A. Monroe President-Elect: Maxine Hammonds Smith Members-at-Large: Deborah B. Gentry, Robert Reyes, Bahira Sherif Trask, Stephen Russell, and Suzanne Smith President, Association of Councils: Marcie J. Brooke Student/New Professionals Representative: April L. Few

Posted in Leadership | No Comments »

Other Activities in 2005–06

Because of fiscal concerns, the Annual Public Policy Conference was suspended for 2006. A Margaret Feldman Scholarship Award Committee was appointed, led by Debra Berke as chair. This was to honor Feldman‘s many years of service to NCFR. During the spring of 2006, the NCFR Washington, DC, office was closed, which entailed a long legal process. The closure was due to NCFR’s leaving the National Healthy Marriage Resource Center project administration. On June 13, 2006, Executive Director Emeritus Ruth Jewson passed away at age 92 after a lengthy illness. She was a loved and revered leader who led the initiation […]

Posted in Leadership, Other Activities, Public Policy | No Comments »

Sections in 2005–06

As a part of the program committee, Section chairs were as follows: EE, Lynette Olson; EM, Farrell Webb; FH, Barbara Mandleco; FP, Suzanne Smith; FS, Kevin Allemagne; FT, Volker Thomas; FF, Lee Ann De Reus; IN, Shulamit Ritblatt; RF, Angela Wiley; RT, Stephen Marks; Student/New Professional Program Representative, Elise Radina. NCFR began a series of new services for the Sections, including a welcome letter to all new Section members. Also, the listserv was updated monthly, and each Section was given its own website. Read the document produced by the Family Policy Section circa 2006—35 years of family policy

Posted in Public Policy, Sections | No Comments »

Journals and Publications in 2005–06

A result of bundling the Journal of Marriage and Family/Family Relations (JMF/FR) for all institutional subscriptions by Blackwell produced a 97% renewal rate and an increase in NCFR revenues of $180,000. In addition, since the journals were put online the readership of JMF increased by over 600,000 and that of FR increased by over 400,000. The two Editors were given high rankings by Blackwell for their organizational skills and high-quality articles. JMF published over 1,410 editorial pages, and FR published a total of 703 editorial pages. Marilyn Coleman was appointed to chair the search committee for the new JMF Editor. […]

Posted in Journals and Publications | No Comments »

Affiliates in 2005–06

Marcie Brooke, President of the Association of Councils (AOC), represented the affiliates on the Board of Directors. Kathleen Gilbert, program chair, coordinated the Leadership Training Workshop addressed by Marcie and Nancy Gonzalez and having a panel led by Lane Powell. The AOC bylaws were revised to include a President-Elect position that would be a 2-year term leading to a 2-year term as President of AOC, to provide continuity with NCFR Board work and work with the affiliates. A new Florida Council was in the process of being formed.

Posted in Affiliate Councils | No Comments »

Awards in 2005–06

Award recipients were as follows: Student Award: Amy Rauer, University of Michigan Ruth Jewson Award: Marta McClintock Comeaux, University of Maryland Margaret Arcus Award: Joan Comeau, Family Information Service, Minneapolis, MN Jessie Bernard Research Proposal Award: Hyun-Kyung You, Oregon State University Jessie Bernard Contribution to Feminist Scholarship Award: Catherine Kenney, University of Illinois Burgess Award: Ted L. Huston, University of Texas Reuben Hill Award: Aletha Huston and Stacey Rosenkrantz Aronson, University of Texas Anselm Strauss Award: B. K. Beitin and K. R. Allen NCFR named the following Fellows: were Karen Bogenschneider, Cheryl Buehler, Thomas Chibucos, Edith Lewis, Stephen Marks, Gary Peterson, Blaine Porter, Karen Seccombe, and Constance Shehan.

Posted in Awards | No Comments »